Jim Tananbaum: The Founder and CEO of Foresite Capital Management

7:53 am on May 26, 2017

Jim Tananbaum is a healthcare investor, entrepreneur, venture capitalists, and a founder of three leading healthcare companies in the United States. His investing and entrepreneurial experience of over 25 years has seen him become one of the wealthiest billionaires in the healthcare businesses. Jim’s great achievements have also seen him appear on the Forbes Midas List of top 100 Technology Investors for the third year in a row.

Career Information

According to Wired, Jim Tananbaum is the current Chief Executive Officer and the founder of Foresite Capital. The company is a healthcare private equity firm that provides capital, networks, and information to emerging healthcare leaders to help drive their success. He is also a co-founder of GelTex Pharmaceuticals, Prospect Venture II and III, together with Theravance Inc. Jim Tananbaum has led other investments, including Amerigroup, Jazz Pharmaceuticals, Healtheon, and Amira Pharmaceuticals among others.

His Role at Foresite Capital

Jim launched Foresite Capital in 2011 with the aim of creating a unique investment platform. The company focuses on businesses involved in medical devices, biotechnology and diagnostic as well as therapeutics. The company has now invested in 77 healthcare companies including Aimmune Therapeutics,10X Genomics, and in Aerie Pharmaceuticals. Jim’s keen interest in health care innovation and his love for learning has contributed to the growth of the company leading to over 1.1 billion dollars in assets. Additionally, he has adopted the use of Outlook and Salesforce in the company’s everyday activities as well as Big Query and Tableau in the management of data.

Educational Background

Jim Tananbaum studied a Bachelor of Arts/ Science degree, Medical Doctor Degree at Yale University and later joined Harvard Business School for his MBA. Jim also attended the Massachusetts Institute of Technology where he pursued a Master of Science degree. He has been on the President’s Advisory Board of Yale University and the Harvard-MIT HST Program.